Law School Adopts New Name

On June 22, the law school unveiled some exciting news. After lengthy and careful consideration, the Board of Directors decided to adopt a new name: Houston College of Law.

Tom Vick '81 elected State Bar of Texas president-elect

Texas attorneys have elected Tom Vick ’81 of Weatherford as the next president-elect of the State Bar of Texas. Vick is the third State Bar President to come from Houston College of Law following Lynn Liberato ’80 (SBOT President 2000-2001) and Charles R. Dunn ’65 (SBOT President 1991-1992).

Randall O. Sorrels Civil Practice Clinics selected as Night Court 2016 beneficiary

Houston College of Law instills in its students the importance of public service and a sense of responsibility to use their knowledge and skills to promote access to justice. It may not occur to many students and alumni, however, that their talents outside the courtroom—namely singing, dancing, and stage production—can have a powerful impact toward positive change, too.

Board of Directors welcomes five new members

Houston College of Law announced recently the appointment of five new members to the law school’s board of directors for the 2016-2017 academic year. Joining the board are Houston College of Law alumni Judge Robert Eckels ’93, Randy Howry ’85, Joseph “Joe” Lopez ’78, Andrew “Andy” Sommerman ’86, and Ruthie Nelson White ’96.

Alumni Spotlight: Jeremy Dunbar '15

Jeremy Dunbar ’15 is what most would regard as an exceptional scholar. He has a half dozen moot court and mock trial awards and a national championship under his belt. He graduated summa cum laude and was valedictorian of the December 2015 class. And, most recently, he received news that he earned the highest score on the February Texas Bar exam.

Alumni Spotlight: Leslie Schweinle Ginzel '08

Leslie Schweinle Ginzel ’08 and her team at Beacon Law are going beyond food and temporary shelter to help clients overcome the legal barriers that keep them from regaining stability. The Beacon is the only legal aid in Texas that specifically focuses on the legal challenges of the homeless, who often cannot access mainstream legal representation.

Alumni Association award nominations due July 1

The Alumni Association presents the Distinguished Alumni Award and the Public Service Award to notable alumni for extraordinary achievements and contributions to their professions, local communities, and Houston College of Law. This year, the Alumni Association also will present a new Young Alumni Award.

Alumni Association awards annual scholarships

The South Texas College of Law Alumni Association proudly recognizes its 2015-2016 scholarship recipients and congratulates them on their outstanding academic achievements, leadership and community service. Since 1989 when the first scholarship fund was created through the Alumni Association, more than half a million dollars has been awarded to deserving students.

Houston College of Law alumni selected for 2016 'Texas Super Lawyers- Rising Stars'

More than 180 Houston College of Law alumni have been named to the 2016 Texas Super Lawyers – Rising Stars list. Each year, no more than 2.5 percent of the lawyers in the state are selected to receive this honor.

Richard Anderson Provides Houston College of Law with Second-Largest Gift from Living Donor in School’s 93-Year History

Houston College of Law alumnus and new board member Richard Anderson (’82) and his wife, Susan, recently gifted the law school more than $1.3 million – the second-largest gift by a living donor in Houston College of Law’s 93-year history, and the largest gift from an individual during Donald J. Guter’s tenure as president and dean.

Success! 413 Challenge exceeds 100 percent of goal

As of February 15, 2016, we have surpassed our goal of 413 alumni gifts by 4/13/16. The 413 Challenge has raised more than $210,000 to-date, with time still left to participate if you have not already.

Houston College of Law Receives Texas ATJ Law School Service Award

Houston College of Law was named the recipient of the Texas Access to Justice Commission’s 2015 Law School Commitment to Service Award at the November New Lawyer Induction Ceremony. This award is granted to the law school that has distinguished itself by actively educating students about access to justice issues.
RSS Feed  

About Us

Stay Connected

Events & Reunion

Get Involved

Alumni Chapters